Help needed!

Hi guys! Remember I said I was officially doing the 2015 Popsugar Reading Challenge? I also said something about needing your help. Well, I’m really excited about this challenge and I’ve even drafted a post on all the books I’ve chosen. But I am really stuck right now and I’m hoping you guys can get me unstuck.


So here are the categories I can’t figure out what books to pick:

• A classic romance (I have never read any classics)
• A book based on a true story
• A book more than 100 years old
• A book you were supposed to read in school but didn’t (I have read all the books given as “assignments”. Is it okay if I use a book that I brought to school with the intention of reading it but never did?)
• A book that takes place in your hometown (My hometowns is Penang Island here in Malaysia and it is impossible to find a book set there. What should I do? Should I find a book set in some other island?)
• A book written by an author with your same initials (Mine is T.S.)
• A play
• A banned book (Here in Malaysia the only banned book I know of is Fifty Shades of Grey and I am not about to read that. Any good banned books where you live?)

I’m sorry there are so many of them I can’t seem to fill. 😦 Thanks in advance! Hugs! ❤

16 thoughts on “Help needed!

      • raptureinbooks says:

        You could also read Pride and Prejudice or Gone with the Wind for the classic romance and I’m fond of William Shakespeare’s plays. Hamlet is good but can be considered a bit hard going but A Midsummer Nights Dream or Romeo and Juliet are both very good. There are other plays that are not “classics” but I’m a classic girl at heart.

        If you Google banned books it will give you many lists with banned books on it: 1984 and Animal Farm by George Orwell are both banned, A clockwork Orange. In some countries Frankenstein is also banned.

        Hope this helps 😁

        Liked by 1 person

  1. What's She Reading? says:

    As far as hometown goes, I’d maybe try to find a book that’s set in Malaysia. I’m from a small suburb near Seattle, WA and obviously nothing written is set in that specific city so I’m going the next step up and reading something set in Seattle.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tasha says:

      That’s what I thought too, but I don’t know any good books set in Malaysia. Guess I’ll check with some members of the bookclub I’m in.
      Thanks for clearing things up for me! 🙂

      Like

  2. bookwormgirls123 says:

    The only thing I can think of is the initials one. It’s a children’s author (I don’t know what you read; sorry but this is my first time seeing your blog!) but you could try Tui T. Sutherland. She wrote a series about dragons, I read them a while ago and really enjoyed it.
    -Amy
    P.s. I hope it helped! (Even though I think it didn’t) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. sumlynnnguyen says:

    Thanks for being a frequent reader and liker of my posts if that makes sense. 😄 I thought I’d drop by to say hello and help you out with this as much I can. I’m a huge nonfiction reader even though I don’t write reviews on them often. Unbroken is a wonderful well written one, but I’d definitely recommend The Glass Castle. It’s pithy, appealing to new nonfiction readers, and narrates quite a moving story. I’m a huge Austen and Bronte sisters fan, so for a book that’s 100+ years old, I’d suggest Pride and Prejudice or Jane Eyre. Northanger Abbey is another enjoyable Austen read. As for someone with initials of T.S., the first that came to mind was T.S. Eliot, so maybe some of his popular poems. And plays? Hmm, I guess anything by Shakespeare was pretty fun. He’s confusing as heck, but he’s known in the playwright world. Romeo and Juliet is obviously one of the more popular ones, but I really enjoyed Macbeth and A Midsummer’s Night Dream more. Other good plays are Shaw’s Pygmalion, Sophocles’ Antigone, Ibsen’s A Doll’s House, and Tennessee William’s The Glass Menagerie. And I’m sure the rules of the challenge can be slightly bent! For the one about your hometown instead of being so country specific, what about being continent specific instead? Maybe one set in Asia in general or maybe a little bit more direct like SE Asia? Hope this didn’t make you eyes too tired because of it’s length, and I hope it helped you somewhat! Happy reading and good luck on the challenge!

    Like

    • Tasha says:

      Perfect sense 🙂
      I have read like really really few non fiction books, so any help is help I need! Thank you for all the suggestions, I really appreciate you going through the hassle of listing everything.
      Have a great day/night!
      Happy reading to you too! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

