The Evolution of Lillie Gable by Kristen Otte || Review and Interview!

Title: The Evolution of Lillie Gable

Author: Kristen Otte

Series: Eastbrook # 2

Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary

Publisher: Discover Your Story, Inc

Publication Date: March 31st 2015

My Rating: ★★★★


Meet Lillie Gable-
high school sophomore, outgoing, beautiful, athletic, and funny…

She is the life of any party. Her boyfriend, Jake, is a smoking hot senior, and Lillie is on track to be a starter on the varsity girls’ basketball team this year.

But trouble looms behind the façade. Lillie’s home life is a wreck. Her father is hiding a secret, and Lillie is determined to find the truth, even if it tears apart her family.

While she searches for the truth about her father, the last thing Lillie needs is a feud with Angela Barrett, the brass, bleached blonde senior who is the queen of the rumor mill. Angela is determined to ruin Lillie’s reputation because she has set her sights on Lillie’s boyfriend, Jake.

Heartbroken and humiliated, Lillie can’t return to the life she once knew.Does she have the strength and resolve to forge a new path now that everything is changing? 

The Evolution of Lillie Gable is a young adult realistic fiction novel for teens 14 and up. 


This book was unexpected! I didn’t expect so much thinking on my part or Lillie’s development as a character! I thoroughly enjoyed reading about Lillie’s life and her adventures with Rachel.

To everyone else Lillie seemed to be living the high life, perfect boyfriend, great spot on the basketball team… She had everything going… until she found out about her father’s secret. Things pretty much went down the drain from then on.
What I liked:
• Lillie Gable – Lillie! She was impulsive, outgoing, athletic, spontaneous, everything I wished I was. I liked how perceptive she was, it didn’t take much for her to figure out her dad was hiding something. Something major. Some characters would have just written it off as a coincidence but Lillie, she trusted her instincts and dug deeper. Her frustration was totally understandable, lots of us in the same situation would have been more than frustrated. Hard to keep a cool head when your family is falling apart right before you. But somehow she hung on, you go girl! I found myself rooting for her on more than one occasion. I absolutely admired her self control, she had a chance for revenge but she decided to take the high road. She did have her flaws, she made a few mistakes throughout the book but they were nothing major. I’m not sure if I’ve said this before but I prefer when characters slip up and make mistakes, makes them more believable and believe it or not likeable. Lillie grew a lot in my opinion, she made some tough decisions and she made them well. Oooh and I loved her relationship with her mom. I don’t want to spoil it but it was a bit shaky and then…
• Rachel Brandt – Rachel is Lillie’s ultimate best friend and the total opposite of Lillie. Rachel was actually the protagonist in the first Eastbrook book, The Photograph. The sneak peeks I got into Rachel’s life and family really has me intrigued. Oh my God, and her relationship with Brent! I really wonder how they got to that stage in their relationship. Even more of a reason why I should read The Photograph!
• The plot – The plot was good, it was unique and will have you hooked! I just had to know what happened to Lillie and her family. It was also neat of Otte to add basketball in and not cheerleading or dancing. I learned quite a lot about basketball thanks to her!
What I did not like:
• The pace – It was a bit slow at times but it never got to the point where I wanted to just put the book down.When the pace picked up it was impossible for me to put it down, I just had to know, you know?
• Jake – I saw right through you, Jake! He wasn’t a bad guy or anything but I thought that Lillie could have done better. And who knows maybe she did? 😉
Overall this was an enjoyable read, I loved being in Lillie’s head and seeing things the way she did. Also, the title ‘The Evolution of Lillie Gable’ is suitable, you’ll get it when you read it! Thank you, Kristen Otte for this amazing reading experience. 🙂

Interview

I was lucky enough to interview the author of The Evolution of Lillie Gable, here it is:

Q: Hi! Thank you for agreeing to do this interview! Could you tell us a bit about yourself and your book, The Evolution of Lillie Gable?

A: I am an author who calls Cincinnati, Ohio my home. Besides writing, I teach reading and coach basketball. When I’m not doing those things, I usually can be found chasing my husband, our pug, and our Boston terrier around the house. 

I write books for kids, teens, and adults. My kids’ book series, The Adventures of Zelda, stars a mischievous, stubborn pug whose antics cause young readers to laugh and smile. The fourth book in that series releases this summer. 

The Evolution of Lillie Gable follows the story of Lillie Gable, a sophomore in high school. She is popular, athletic, pretty–the girl everyone loves. But behind her façade is a troubled family life. Her father is hiding something, and Lillie is determined to discover his secret. While she searches for the truth about her family, the last thing Lillie needs is a feud with Angela Barrett, the queen of the rumor mill. Angela is determined to ruin Lillie’s reputation because she has set her sights on Lillie’s boyfriend, Jake. With her life falling to pieces, Lillie has to decide how to move forward.

Q: I understand that The Evolution of Lillie Gable is the sequel to The Photograph. Can it be read as a standalone?

A: The Photograph and The Evolution of Lillie Gable are the first two books in the Eastbrook series. The Eastbrook series takes place in the same world and timeframe, but each book focused on a different main character and storyline. Therefore, you can read the books as standalone novels or out of order.

Q: Which Eastbrook character do you have most in common with? How so?

A: I have the most in common with Rachel Brandt. She is a quiet type, who works hard and tries to make the right decisions. Lillie reminds me a bit of my sister because of her outgoing nature, but neither characters are carbon copies of someone.

Q: Do you have a dream cast for your Eastbrook series? Mind sharing?

A: That’s something I haven’t thought about before! I like Willa Holland and Caity Lotz from Arrow. Willa would be a great Lillie and Caity could take Rachel’s role. For the guys, Michael B. Jordan is an obvious choice for Dustin. I also enjoy Dylan O’Brien (The Maze Runner). I think Dylan would be great as Brent and maybe Josh Hutcherson as Jake.

Q: Was it always your plan to be a writer?

A: Nope. I always loved writing. I dreamed of being a writer as a kid and a teenager, but when I went to college, I decided to take a more practical route. I graduated with a degree in education, but I worked in the church as a student pastor for six years. During that time, I rediscovered my love for writing. I joined a writer’s group and started writing fiction. It took a few years to get rolling, but now I’ve moved to writing part-time and I love it!

Q: If you could collaborate with any author, who would you pick? Why?

A: Another great question! At the moment, I would pick Jandy Nelson. Her two contemporary young adult novels, I’ll Give You The Sun and The Sky Is Everywhere, blew me away. Both are very different stories that dive you deep into the minds of teenagers dealing with tough issues. Plus, the format of both novels is very unique. I think she is trying different and bold things in the contemporary young adult genre, and I would love to team up with her.

Q: Okay, so it’s the end of the world and you only have enough time to read ONE book. Which book will it be and why?

A: I would read A Million Miles in a Thousand Years by Donald Miller. It’s a nonfiction book, but one of my all-time favorites. The book is all about creating a better story for your life. It’s funny at times, heart-wrenching at others, and motivating by the end. It might help put my life in perspective if the world was ending!

Q: Are you a really emotional reader?

A: I love books that tug on my emotions, whether that is love or loss. Great books will cause me to shed tears or laugh out loud. However, I don’t find myself sobbing at the end of books, so I’m a middle of the road emotional reader.

Q: This is completely random but coffee or tea?

A: Tea! I love tea–hot, iced, or sweet tea. I’ve never been a coffee drinker. It drives my husband nuts!

Q: What would you say is the hardest part of writing?

A: The hardest part of the writing process for me is getting my butt in the chair to write the first draft. I love the revision stage where I flesh out the story and make the details come to life, but the first draft is difficult. During the past year, I’ve learned a few tricks that have helped with my focus during the first draft stage. First, I write with the Wi-Fi router turned off in my house to remove distractions. Second, I outline in great detail, complete with a chapter-by-chapter outline and character sketches.

Q: Anything you’d like to say to your readers?

A: First, thank you for reading and supporting authors. Second, writing can be a lonely career, so stop by my website (www.kristenotte.com) and say hello! Finally, Zelda the pug and Peach the Boston terrier send kisses. Happy reading!

Once again thank you Kristen and I look forward to reading more of your work and The Photograph! 😀


Excerpt

It was almost ten, and Jake needed to go home, but she didn’t want him to leave her in the empty house.

“I have an idea,” he said. He threw on his T-shirt and stood up. “We both don’t want this awesome summer to end, so I think we should have one more day of summer.”

“What are you saying?” Lillie asked.

“Let’s ditch school tomorrow. We can spend the day at the beach. It will be quiet because everyone will be at school, and we get to have one more day at the beach,” he said. Excitement was written all over his face.

“Ditch? I don’t know, Jake,” she said. She loved his impulsiveness, but ditching school could get her in serious trouble.

“It’s the first day. You know nothing happens on the first day. Teachers aren’t paying attention to who should be at school and who isn’t there. It’s the perfect day to ditch. We’ll leave at the same time we should be heading to school. Your parents won’t have a clue. They aren’t around ever.” He grabbed her hands and looked into her eyes. “C’mon, it will be lots of fun.” She turned her gaze from him and mulled over his argument. He’s right. The first day of school is pointless.

“Okay. Let’s do it,” she said. He grinned, gave her a big hug, and lightly kissed her lips.

“I’ll pick you up first thing.” He turned and walked out the door. Lillie locked the door behind him. She turned off the lights before heading upstairs. She brushed her teeth, set her alarm, and collapsed on her bed. The silence overwhelmed her. She switched on her television so she could sleep.


That’s all guys! Hope you enjoyed the review, interview and excerpt! Have you read The Evolution of Lillie Gable or any book by Kristen Otte? Would you read it now? Let me know in the comments! Happy reading! Hugs! ❤

6 thoughts on “The Evolution of Lillie Gable by Kristen Otte || Review and Interview!

  1. nightowl4321 says:

    Wow, this book seems interesting, and a good one to read. I am just starting into this book blogging thing, and I was wondering how you got to interview the author. Also, did you skype the author, call, or something else? Sorry, this isn’t really about your post, but I’m curious.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

