Mia and the Bad Boy by Lisa Burstein || Review

Mia and the Bad Boy tour banner


MiaAndTheBadBoy_FC (1)Title: Mia and the Bad Boy

Author: Lisa Burstein

Series: Backstage Pass #2

Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary Romance

Publisher: Entangled Crush

Pages: 181, Kindle Edition

Publication Date: May 19th 2015

My Rating: ★★★★


This good girl’s about to meet her match…

Ryder Brooks is living the dream—he’s famous, loved by millions of girls, and miserable. All he really wants is to write his own music, not Seconds to Juliet’s sugary sweet pop. In order to do that, though, the “bad boy” of the band will have to play by the rules. And that includes behaving with his new—and super cute—über-good-girl tutor.

Mia Reyes is in fangirl heaven. Tutoring her favorite member of her favorite band? It’s a dream come true…until it turns into a complete nightmare. Ryder is nothing like she thought. He’s crude, arrogant, and pretty much a total jerk. And the worst part? She’s roped into pretending to be his girlfriend so that no one finds out he’s being tutored. Fake kisses, plenty of PDA, and even sharing his hotel room…

But sometimes even the baddest of bad boys needs a little redemption.


I was so excited to read this book because of the concept of the story which was about a bad boy and a good girl falling in love. I am a sucker for bad boys, especially when they’re actually quite good but just misunderstood. Don’t get me wrong I adore good guys too. Honestly, generally I can’t say which I’ll choose in a love triangle; it really depends on who the guys are. But that’s all besides the point of the review, ’cause this book doesn’t have a love triangle.

Mia and the Bad Boy is the second book in the Backstage Pass series and can be read as a standalone.

I would love to summarize the book for you but I worry about giving away too much. Why? Because it’s a really short book and it would be way too easy too unintentionally spoil it for you. So, I’m going to summarize it as I go over the plot, characters, etc…

The plot was interesting and fun. The pacing was a bit slow in the beginning but it sped up in no time and had enough substance that I read it in one sitting. That’s not right, I was lying down when I read it. Anywho, once the engine revved up, it was a jam packed ride filled with sass till the end.

Mia, the protagonist, is a good girl. Mia was supposed to be a good girl, but she wasn’t; deep inside she couldn’t be the good girl her mom wanted her to be. I mean, it was impossible for her to be a good girl; she tried and it was all fine until she met Ryder. More on Ryder later, for now, back to Mia. Before reading the book I expected her to be someone I could relate to but after reading I realized that no, I couldn’t really relate to her. Yeah, she’s a good girl, I’m a good girl (I think?) so why not? Well, for a first my parents and her parents are way different and trust me when I say her parents-especially her mom-played a big part in the story and Mia’s character. Mia spent most of her life pleasing her parents and while I got that she was grateful for everything they did and all, but there’s a limit to how controlling parents can be. What I liked about Mia was probably her sass and take my word for it she had a lot of sass for an über good girl. There was development where she’s concerned; from good girl to semi bad girl; from always listening to her parents to standing up to them and taking a stand in her life. Kudos to you, Mia!

Ryder was definitely my favorite character! He was so funny and wait for it…. he had a secret to hide. The secret is something you’ll have to find out on your own but let me tell you the moms in this book aren’t running for the “Best Mom Award” anytime soon. He was extremely rude in the beginning but mellowed down a great deal after meeting and getting involved with Mia. Can’t say I blamed him for his attitude though, he was merely putting up a wall of indifference to protect himself from getting hurt any further. I really liked the way he was after Mia came into his life; really sweet and compassionate.

If Ryder was my favorite character then Mia’s mom was my least favorite. She was so pushy and naggy the entire time. Not to mention ridiculously protective and overbearing.

“You don’t sound very excited. This is the beginning of everything we’ve been working for.”

Excuse me? Everything “we’ve” been working for? Here’s a news flash to you, Mia’s mom; Mia was the one studying her butt off for something she didn’t even want.

“I know your father and I have been hard on you, but look where your dedication has led. You’re on your way to making us proud.”

I’m all for making your parents proud but I think it is meaningless if you make them proud by doing something you have no interest in at all.

Her parents didn’t even ask her what she wanted to do with her life after high school, they just decided on her behalf. Perfect. Also, every single time before hanging up the phone Mia’s mom had to remind her to “Be a good girl, Mia.”. Am I the only one who found that weird? If I were Mia I’d be tempted to be a bad girl just to spite her.

The romance between Mia and Ryder was cute and humorous at the same time. It was kind of “insta-love” but besides that they made a really good pair. There were also some adorable moments like the one at the fair and the video Ryder made for Mia. Totally swoon worthy!

It was also very nice to read about “band life” and experience it through Ryder. At first the band members of Seconds to Juliet weren’t exactly close but they really pulled through in the end when Ryder needed them, especially Miles, the “good boy”. There’s also this song title from the book that’s stuck in my head even though I have no idea how the song actually sounds like and I will probably never know how it sounds like. Anyways, the title is Woman Every Time and I don’t know why but I just find it catchy.

Bad parents aside this was a really entertaining and quick read. Oh and the duel POV between Mia and Ryder was a definite plus. I would recommend it to fans of boy bands and of course those who’ve read the first book, Aimee and the Heartthrob.


And it’s a wrap, guys! Any fans of boy bands present? Boy bands or not what did you guys think? If you’ve read the book, did Mia’s parents bother you? The rest of you who haven’t read it, would you consider giving it a spot on your TBR? I think Mia and the Bad Boy is good as a quick read and I’ve just got Aimee and the Heartthrob because I am so curious about Miles and I’ve requested a review copy of the Daisy and the Front Man (the third book) from the publisher. This has nothing to do with the book but I am SO excited about this huge book fair I’m going to; expect a giant book haul tomorrow! So as usual share your thoughts in the comments! Happy reading and have a great bookish day! Hugs! ❤

12 thoughts on “Mia and the Bad Boy by Lisa Burstein || Review

  1. bookwormgirls123 says:

    Great review! I really love your format (I think I’ve told you that before but oh well). I’ll be ordering the first one soon! I know you said they can be read in pretty much any order, but you know me. Everything has to be straight and perfect! 🙂
    -Amy

    Like

Leave a Reply

