The Cinderella Moment by Jennifer Kloester || Review

20516496 Title: The Cinderella Moment

Author: Jennifer Kloester

Series: Standalone

Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary Romance, Fairy Tale Retellings

Publisher: Swoon Romance YA

Pages: 299, Kindle Edition

Publication Date: December 21st 2013

My Rating: ★★★★★


Let the masquerade begin!

Angel Moncoeur has always wanted to be a fashion designer, but without money or connections, it’s going to be a challenge. When an opportunity to leave her home in New York and head to Paris appears, Angel grabs it – even if it means masquerading as her best friend Lily. That can’t be too hard, can it? But when she falls in love with her very own Prince Charming who thinks she’s someone else, Angel embarks on a plan to secure her happy ever after.

THE CINDERELLA MOMENT is a fabulously fun story about high society, mistaken identity, love, betrayal, friendship – and great clothes!

THE CINDERELLA MOMENT is a contemporary twist on the Cinderella fairytale. There are no fantasy or magical elements. This is NOT a paranormal or fantasy novel! This is a clean contemporary coming of age story that readers can be comfortable recommending to daughters, nieces, students and friends who enjoy teen romance reads. Originally published in Australia by Penguin. Available in the U.S. in both print and eBook from Swoon Romance.


Gods, guys, where do I begin with this review? This book was just so… magical!

Angel Moncoeur and Lily de Tourney are the best of friends. Lily with her dream of being an actress and Angel a fashion designer. Hoping to get closer to achieving her dream Angel enters the prestigious Teen Couture competition. After all her hard work designing her collection, she finds that her designs have been stolen by Clarissa, Lily’s soon to be stepsister. When Lily gets a letter of acceptance from the drama school of her dreams and a letter from her estranged grandmother, the Comtesse inviting Lily to join her in Paris at the same time, she hardly thinks twice about her choice. After a whole lot of convincing, Lily manages to talk Angel into going to Paris as her. Angel’s goal? Swap the Teen Couture entry form and stand a chance to win the competition. She gets much more than she bargained for when she meets the charming Nick Halliday, Lily’s childhood friend and finds herself growing close to the Comtesse. It’s hard to keep one secret straight but throw in a few more and things get interesting in Paris. Will Angel get her fairy tale happy ending? Or will the lies get in the way of happily ever after?

Okay, before I officially start with the review you must know that I loved this book, like really, I would so read it again. And again.

The plot was really good and well thought out. It was light and fun but still very meaningful. Something about this book gave me the Anna and the French Kiss vibe! Don’t get me wrong the two books are very different and both have their moments, but they constantly remind me of each other. Maybe it’s the setting? Oh my Gods, lets not forget about the plot twists, ’cause Kloester kept them coming!

The characters were all really well developed and stood out from each other. There’s the protagonist, Angel Moncoeur. After her father’s death, Angel’s mom gets a job as a housekeeper at Philip’s place, resulting in Angel and Philip’s daughter, Lily becoming best friends. Best friends that would do anything for each other. When Lily first asks Angel to take her place in Paris, she’s reluctant but Clarissa stealing her designs changes everything. Due to their similar looks, they can easily pass off as each other if need be, so off Angel goes to Paris as Lily de Tourney. Angel was passionate about designing and I couldn’t help but feel her excitement when she met Antoine Vidal, her favorite designer. It was infectious, really, just like how I would feel if I met my favorite author. Things were already complicated with having to uphold the lie around the Comtesse but then Nick goes and invites himself into her life. I totally understood her reservations about Nick and getting into a relationship with him. Angel is a rational person and dating a guy who is under the impression you’re someone else is not rational. But boy did Nick make it hard not to fall in love with him. I’ll get to Nick soon. So, back to Angel, she was just so real and was put in so many tough spots that could happen to anyone. I mean, being yourself is hard enough, but having to be yourself on the inside but someone else on the outside, let me tell you it is not a walk in the park! I think lots of us girls will find her relatable.

Lily had tried to tell her that boys only teased a girl if they liked her, but that made no sense at all to Angel. Surely if a boy liked you he’d be nice and not horrible?

I used to wonder about that all the time. Still do, actually.

Angel sighed. Sometimes adults were weird.

I think so too, Angel. I’m the last person to judge weird people but the reason why Angel came to that conclusion perfectly warrants weird.

Now for Nick, I’m so excited to share with you the wonder that is Nick! Nick was unexpected in so many ways; Angel clearly didn’t expect running into him at the airport (Lily assured her that no one would recognize or remember her since the last time Lily was in France she was five); she most definitely did not expect to fall for him (it was inevitable, really); did not expect how just how charming Prince Charming could be. Suffice it to say that Nick was a whole load of “unexpected” in a package. A sweet, funny, charming, chivalrous and honest package. Can I say, book boyfriend?

He proves that chivalry is not dead:

She stopped in front of him and held out her hand. He took it and bowed.

and

… Nick was pulling a chair out for her.

Well, chivalry is not dead, just really really fictional.

What I loved most about him was probably his honesty and Angel noticed it too.

He was so different from the guys she knew and it wasn’t just that he was charming and confident and easy to talk to–Nick was honest. Which made it even harder that he didn’t know who she really was.

The relationship between Angel and Nick is one we all aspire to have (at least I do). Some parts had me squealing and making strange faces no one should see. They were really cute and natural around each other, and the things Nick says and does… * swoon * There was this one part that had me frustrated.

“Will you watch the second half?” he asked. There was something in his face that made Angel want to reach out and touch him, to explain she hadn’t meant it, that it was all a mistake, that she loved polo and the horses and everything.

Instead, she said indifferently, “Oh, sure, why not?”

“In that case, let me see if I can make it less dull for you!” Nick turned on his heel and strode away.

I know why she did what she did but still… Poor Nick… * sniffle * * sniffle *

I would love to talk about Lily but I just found out that there’s a companion novel to The Cinderella Moment that is Lily’s story, so I don’t want to ruin the fun! All I can tell you is that she’s funny, impulsive and very different from Angel yet still so alike. Oh, and Angel and Lily are definitely running for the “Best BFF Award”.

My least favorite characters are Margot, Philip’s “girlfriend/fiancée” and Clarissa, her daughter. They were the biggest pains in the story and I felt no sympathy for what happened to them. I doubt there’s any way for them to redeem themselves after all the crap they did. They got what they deserved. The end.

Kloester’s writing was flowy and I had no problems with it at all. Her description of everything was stunning. Particularly when she was describing Paris and the lovely dresses.

Now to wrap it up, The Cinderella Moment is a magical modern take on the Cinderella fairytale that I would gladly devour more than once. I would recommend it to people who enjoyed Anna and the French Kiss, movies and books where people swap places and pretend to be each other. If you’re looking for something light and heartwarming, then you should grab this book, it will make you believe that dreams do come true!


Looking at it now it looks like I wrote a really long review! Have you read The Cinderella Moment? If you have, maybe share your thoughts on it? If you haven’t would you consider giving it a go? Personally I think it got a well deserved 5 stars ’cause I couldn’t find anything wrong with it (at least it didn’t standout), but that’s just me and there could be things I like that others don’t. And people, just as I’m typing this I’ve found out that the Jamily ship could be sailing again. Yup, you heard me right, the Jamily ship has risen. The photos Lily posted on Instagram pretty much says it all, if you haven’t checked them out, go now! So, share your thoughts on everything in the comments! Hugs! ❤

21 thoughts on “The Cinderella Moment by Jennifer Kloester || Review

    • Tasha says:

      Yay! Yes, I hardly come across contemporary fairytale retellings and this one exceeded my expectations! 😀
      Thank you, Analee! ❤
      Let me know how feel about the book once you've read it! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Tasha says:

      Please do! Yes, Nick is the definition of cute and I’m glad my review effected you in such a manner, it’s great to make others smile (especially over fictional guys and whatnot)! 😀
      The dresses were AMAZING and some of them were just so visual, I think you’ll like it!
      I cannot wait to hear what you thought of the book! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    • Tasha says:

      Thank you so much! Glad my “promoting” has convinced you to read it. 😉
      I LOVED it and I’m hoping you will too. Looking forward to your review of it! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

