Top Ten Tuesday #3: Ten Fairytale Retellings

booksTop Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, it was created because of their love of lists and all things bookish. There are different lists every week and you can check out the topics on their website, they post some of them beforehand.


This Tuesday the topic is Ten Fairytale Retellings I’ve Read/Want To Read. You can also do fairytales you want to be retold or fairytales you love. I’m going to go with retellings I have and haven’t read.

∗Click the covers and you’ll be sent to their respective Goodreads pages∗

Fairytale Retellings I’ve Read

  • The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

23654535

This is a retelling of A Thousand and One Nights and the best I’ve read thus far. Just no words to describe its originality right now. No words.


  • Splintered by A.G. Howard

12558285

A whimsical spin of Alice in Wonderland, more like what happened after Alice and her adventures in Wonderland. Review here.


  • The Cinderella Moment by Jennifer Kloester

20516496

The Cinderella Moment is a contemporary take on Cinderella. No magic but set in the magical Paris with fashion and a “Prince Charming”. Review here.


FAIRYTALE RETELLINGS I HAVEN’T READ

  • Lair of the Lion by Christine Feehan

15830122

A historical romance spin of Beauty and the Beast. Haven’t read it but it contains a lot of sexual content so I wouldn’t recommend it to younger teenagers (unless you’re like 17 and fine with it like I am).


  • Briar Rose by Jana Oliver

17256087

A reimagining of Sleeping Beauty. To be honest I have this book but am not too keen on reading it since I DNFed her Demon Trapper series. But I’m always willing to give an author another shot, so let me know if you’ve read this.


  • The Rapunzel Dilemma by Jennifer Kloester

22557893

Companion to Jennifer Kloester’s The Cinderella Moment.


  • A Long, Long Sleep by Anna Sheehan

7766070

A dystopian take on Sleeping Beauty about a 16-year-old girl who’s been in a slumber for 62 years and when she’s awoken by a kiss, the world is no longer as she knew it.


  • The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

ww

The Lunar Chronicles is actually one of the most famous retellings series and I haven’t read it. I know, where have I been, right?


  • Princess of the Midnight Ball by Jessica Day George

3697927

Book 1 in the Westfalin Trilogy this novel spins the tale of The Twelve Dancing Princesses.


  • Gathering Frost by Kaitlyn Davis

24402708

This is based on Sleeping Beauty and it says on Goodreads:

Jade was only a little girl when the earthquake struck. Before her eyes, half of New York City disappeared, replaced by a village that seemed torn out of a storybook. Horses and carriages. Cobblestone streets. A towering castle. And, above all, a queen with the magical ability to strip emotions away.

Storybrook. Once Upon a Time. Anyone?


And it’s a wrap! I really enjoyed this one and I hope you do too. Now that I look at it, I really must read more retellings, I’ve been seriously lagging behind on that parade. So have you read any of those books? If you’ve done your own TTT, share it with me. What fairytale retellings do you recommend I give a shot? Let me know in the comments. Hugs! ❤

27 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #3: Ten Fairytale Retellings

  1. Tarkabarka says:

    Lunar Chronicles is great. I would also love to read the Twelve Dancing Princesses retelling, but at the same time I am afraid too, because it’s my favorite fairy tale and I have high expectations… 🙂 Wrath and the Dawn keeps popping up today, I need to put that on my TBR.
    Thanks for the great list!

    @TarkabarkaHolgy from
    Multicolored Diary TTT

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tasha says:

      I understand, when you love something so much it really hurts when someone recreates it and you don’t like it.
      You really should! It’s an amazing love story. 🙂
      Glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

  2. Josephine says:

    I haven’t read many fairy tale retellings, in fact the only two I’ve read are Throne of Glass and A Court of Thorns and Roses, but they are definitely amazing! I want to read the Lunar Chronicles series so badly. Great post and wonderful picks! xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tasha says:

      Honestly, before seeing your list I had no idea Throne of Glass was inspired by Cinderella! Thanks for the info 🙂
      ACOTAR has been on my TBR for way too long.
      Likewise. Especially with all the hype it gets, I have really high expectations now. I guess I’m just worried they won’t live up to them when I actually pick ’em up!
      Thanks, Josie! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Josephine says:

        You’re welcome! I didn’t know Throne of Glass was inspired by it either at first. 😄
        Yep, you need to read ACOTAR as soon as you can!
        Try to keep your expectations at a moderate level! Don’t expect too much for it. I think its best if you have just average expectations in order to love it. I’m one of those people who can usually block out my expectations when reading a book. Can’t say its the same for everyone though! 😁
        You’re welcome. Xoxo

        Liked by 1 person

        • Tasha says:

          Will do! I’ll just have to block out all pre-thoughts of it while reading and judge it solely by my thoughts while and after reading it. Then I’ll see if it’s all people make it out to be. I’ve learned my lesson, going in with mile high expectations. Now it’s so much easier to just block it all out and read it like I would any other book. It’s great that you can do that and it really makes for the best reading experience, in my opinion! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Holly says:

    Don’t worry- I haven’t read Cinder yet, either! Despite the hype surrounding it on the internet I know a few people I’m close to IRL who haven’t liked it, which is why I’m sort of hesitant to start the series. I’ll probably end up reading it at some point, though.
    Thanks for stopping by my blog! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tasha says:

      That’s a first! I haven’t checked out reviews on Goodreads or anything but most bloggers LOVE it. I guess everyone has different preferences. I just hope I’ll like it! Hope you do too!
      No problem, thanks for stopping by mine! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

