Ten Things Sloane Hates About Tru by Tera Lynn Childs || ARC Review

26101040Title: Ten Things Sloane Hates About Tru

Author: Tera Lynn Childs

Series: Creative HeArts #1

Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary Romance

Publisher: Entangled Crush

Pages: 245 pages, Kindle Edition

Publication Date: September 14th 2015

My Rating: ★★★★


When life gives you a blank canvas, make art.

Sloane Whitaker hates everything about moving to Texas. She hates leaving behind her friends and half her family in New York, starting over senior year at Austin’s NextGen Academy, and having to say she lives in Texas. Most of all, she hates that it’s all her fault. If she wants to earn her way back to the Big Apple, she has to prove she can still be the perfect daughter.

Which means no vandalism art, no trouble at school, and absolutely no Tru Dorsey, her serial screw-up neighbor, who loves nothing more than pushing her buttons.

But from the moment he vaults onto the roof outside her bedroom, there is something about him that makes her want to break every rule. Suddenly it’ s not the ten things she hates about Tru that are at the top of her list. It’s the ten reasons she doesn’t want to be without him.


Hello everyone! I am back today after a very long absence with a review of Ten Things Sloane Hates About Tru by Tera Lynn Childs. I got an ARC from the publisher in exchange for this honest review.

The protag, Sloane is an art student who had to move from New York to the last place she wanted to be: Texas. She had no interest in the people there, the weather, the traffic or the boy next door who seemed like the troublemaker she didn’t need to be hanging out with. You see, Sloane was on probation (set by her mom), behave in a perfect fashion and she gets to move back to New York; screw up? It’s Texas for life. But all that sort of changes when she gets to know the one guy she shouldn’t want to know- Tru.

Tru, like many characters in many books has a secret to hide but this time it’s a secret that readers are privy to early in the book. So um- no suspense there. Look at it like this: thanks to the dual POV of the book, we get to know the characters’ secrets before other characters do.

To start, I really liked how the author made art a part of the storyline and didn’t just have a bunch of art students who didn’t do anything artistic at all. Instead we get a school – full of art students – with top-notch art facilities that seemed like every art students’ dream school, at least that’s what I thought. Apparently, Sloane wasn’t finding herself all too lucky to be in said art school, NextGen Academy. Which I could understand in the beginning- I mean, being uprooted on senior year can’t be too fun. But if I’m being honest, Sloane’s attitude toward it started to annoy me at a certain point. It’s just like she was so busy moping around and hell-bent on not enjoying herself that she didn’t realize SHE WAS MAKING HER OWN LIFE MISERABLE. You screw up and have to face the consequences? Well, face it. You do the crime, you do the time.

The thing is I didn’t find her “sentence” all too unbearable; spending time studying in a fantastic art school, making new friends, meeting an interesting guy and overall getting new experience?

And her mom did promise her that good behavior will get her back to New York in no time. As an artist couldn’t she just chalk it up to experience and

Whining aside Sloane wasn’t a bad character to get to know; strong-willed, sarcastic and artistic; she had personality. And when I finally found out the big “Incident” that had her stuck in Austin I was like, “So that’s what she did.” I don’t want to spoil it for you so, read it and find out for yourself.

Now let’s get to Tru… Tru is one of the most misunderstood characters I’ve read about. Nobody sees the real him; nobody sees that behind his charming smile and words, hides a terrible home life, nobody but Sloane. On the other hand, Sloane’s mom is convinced Tru is a serial screwup -even without having a full conversation with him- and doesn’t want Sloane hanging out with him. Like, can people stop judging people you barely know?! I wanted to give him a huge hug (one of those rib crushing ones) and make everything better.

But that wouldn’t be enough; I also wanted to do unspeakable things to the person who hurt him and save him from further pain.

I just find it amazing how someone with such a horrible secret can find it in him to make everyone else feel so good about themselves. It really goes to show that you never know what other’s have hidden inside and that you only ever see what they want you to see. So, be kind to everyone you meet! 🙂

Tru truly opened up to Sloane in a way that left him vulnerable and it was all just so raw and heartbreaking to have anyone go through so much, needless to say a teenager. And to be able to put a smile on everyone’s face and not be cynical after all that? Tru Dorsey, I salute you.

The romance between Sloane and Tru didn’t feel rushed at all and really felt like only the beginning to me. I want MORE of them as a couple and please more of them working together as a team.

While the plot wasn’t extremely complex, this book just had something about it that’ll make you want to go on reading- if only to find out Sloane’s secret and what happens to Tru. Which led to minor disappointment for me because the ending left a lot of loose ends. We don’t really know what happens to Tru and his family problem, it also looks like Sloane’s parents were keeping something from her and a few other unsolved mysteries. But I found out that there’s going to be a sequel, so I really hope that it’s going to be about Sloane and Tru and will answer the questions in my head right now.

Overall, Ten Things Sloane Hates About Tru is a light, artsy book that deals with some rebellion and is of the clean romance variety. A relatively short and quick read, it will leave you wanting a sequel, no doubt.


Boy, it feels like years since I’ve last read and reviewed a book; I really miss it and of course, you guys too! I hope all is well in the blogosphere and I apologize for my lengthy absence but unfortunately there’s going to be a few more months of AWOL from me. So please bear with me while I finish my exams and get some personal things sorted out.

Regarding the book, have any of you read it? Or maybe you’re interested in reading it? If you are here’s a reminder that it comes out tomorrow on the 14th and feel free to chat with me about it in the comments. Feel free to chat about anything in the comments, I’ve missed you people! Have a great day and stay bookish. Hugs! ❤

12 thoughts on “Ten Things Sloane Hates About Tru by Tera Lynn Childs || ARC Review

  1. ravenblake99 says:

    Hi Tasha! It’s good to see you again! I hope you do well for your exams and come back soon. This book sounds interesting but currently I’m not picking any Contemporary series cause there’s already too many unfinished series in my TBR and I really need to finish them soon. Great Review BTW. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Josephine says:

    Good to see you again! I loved this review very much and I’m definitely convinced to pick this book up! At first glance I probably wouldn’t but after your review, it’s definitely a possibility!

    Like

Leave a Reply

