Interview with Erin Butler || Blog Tour

FFS-Banner


25989861

Title: Falling for Shakespeare

Author: Erin Butler

Series: Standalone

Genres: YA, Contemporary

Publisher: Swoon Romance

Publication Date: September 8th 2015


The funny thing about high school is one day you can be the meanest girl at the top of the food chain and then the next, your pregnant sister makes you a class A loser.

Katie’s life was perfect. She was dating the captain of the football team, had a BFF for life, and every girl at school wanted to be her. But then her sister’s pregnancy changes everything, and suddenly, Katie’s all alone. No friends, no boyfriend, no social life. She may as well be a leper.

Nic’s a straight-A student and self-professed Geek who’s had a thing for Katie since middle school. He needs a date for the winter formal, and Katie needs something to take her mind off her misery. So, she puts her years of popularity and dating to good use. His plight is now her personal pet project.

However, Nic has other plans. If he can take Katie’s advice and become more confident, he might just find a way to mend her broken heart and take himself out of the friend zone for good.


Hi everyone! So I recently got to interview Erin Butler as part of her Falling for Shakespeare blog tour organized by Chapter By Chapter.

Here’s the interview:

Q: Hello, Erin! Thanks for agreeing to do this interview today! 🙂 First, can you describe yourself in 20 words or less?

A: Hi! Thank you so much for having me! OK…20 words or less… gathers thoughts Alright, let’s do this!

Wife/author/librarian/person who’s prone to dancing and singing at random times throughout the dayand loves to laugh.

On a side note, I just texted my husband to describe me in 20 words or less and he wrote back, Perfect! Yep, he’s a keeper that one. 🙂

Q: Could you give my lovely bloggers a lowdown on all the books you’ve written?

A: Of course! My first book is a YA paranormal, BLOOD HEX. If you’re into witches, crazy aunts, and cute farm boys, you’ll like this book. 😉 My second published novel is a New Adult romance. HOW WE LIVED is truly the book of my heart. After I wrote that, I didn’t know if I’d ever be able to write such an emotional story again, or at least, a story that meant so much to me. I recommend it if you’re in the mood for a good cry. Even when I’d gotten to the end of editing and had read it a hundred times, the book still made me sob like a baby! After that there’s FINDING MR. DARCY: HIGH SCHOOL EDITION, a YA contemp. I have such a soft spot for this book. Being a Jane Austen fangirl myself, it was natural for me to write a book that pays homage to the great authoress. It’s about a fellow Janeite who decides to use Jane Austen’s novels as a dating manual. Things go terribly wrong for her, of course. 🙂 FALLING FOR SHAKESPEARE is my next and we all know what that’s about now. After that I have ABBY AND THE CUTE ONE! I cannot wait for this! If you’ve been following along with Seconds to Juliet’s tour in the Backstage Pass Series, thank you! My fellow authors and I are so grateful. Boy bands 4-ever! The other title I have in the works, LAST WISH, is a companion novel to HOW WE LIVED. That should be out after the first of the year sometime. I’m sure there will be many more to come too!

Q: As a librarian, what do you love most about your job? (Besides the fact that it’s the most fun job ever!)

A: What I love most is having random conversations with patrons. I will talk a teen’s ear off about YA if they’ll let me. 🙂 And it’s always fun if I can recommend another book like the one they’re holding in their hand and then find out next week they absolutely loved them both. Being a book cheerleader is awesome.

Q: Here’s a random one: ice cream or chocolate?

A: Chocolate ice cream because I wouldn’t be able to choose and chocolate ice cream is sooooo good! Have you ever put Magic Shell on chocolate ice cream?? Gawd. It’s like heaven!

Q: I read that you’re a fan of sigh-worthy romance! (Hello, neighbor!) What trait in a guy- fictional or not- appeals to you the most?

A: Sense of humor is my first thought because I love to laugh, but also, I like a passionate guy—passionate about me, about his career, goals, etc. It’s a must!

Q: This question I must slip in. When is the cover of Abby and the Cute One going to be released? And I ask that in a completely professional, non-fangirl way. Like I am not at all desperate to see the cover. 😉

A: Jumps up and down I just got the final mock-up yesterday! And let me tell you, I. AM. IN. LOVE. It’s such a great portrayal of the book and Nathan. Ugh! dies Wish I could show you right now! I’m going to be organizing a cover reveal and if I had to guess when, it’s most likely going to be end of September beginning of October.

Q: To get my fangirl heart racing, do you think you can reveal some details about Abby and the Cute One. Or more specifically the Cute One?

A: 🙂 🙂 I am all sorts of giddy right now that you’re asking me about Nathan! He’s sooo adorable. I love him to pieces. You know the previous question you asked about what trait appeals to me most in a guy?

Well, Nathan has a whole lotta passion. He loves singing, he loves Seconds to Juliet and the rest of the guys, he would do ANYTHING for them. Well…let’s just say that’s going to be tested when Abby sings her way into the picture.

Q: Once again, thank you so very much for this and before you leave maybe share a few words of advice to aspiring writers?

A: No, thank you! I’ve had a blast! As far as advice goes, write what you want to write, what would make you devour a book. There’s always going to be an audience out there for something that you’re also passionate about. (See, it’s that word again!) And lastly, if you’re actively writing, stop calling yourself an aspiring writer! You ARE a writer. You’re doing it. You don’t need to add “aspiring” as if you have to justify what you’re doing because maybe no one else but you is reading your words right now. It’s almost as if we view “writer” as a special title and we have to add “aspiring” as some sort of an apology to other writers out there who’ve “made it”. No author I know is going to come by and slap your hand if you’re using writer to describe yourself and you’re not published or don’t have an audience yet. The only requirement for using writer is that you’re putting pen to paper or clacking away on a keyboard. That’s it!

(Huh. I didn’t know I was so passionate about that topic. I guess it’s because I went through that phase and now wish I’d had the confidence to just say, “Hey, I’m a writer. I’m writing and that’s good enough.”)

Thank you for having me!


That’s it guys! It was so great to interview Erin and I got a review copy of Falling for Shakespeare, so look forward to my review of it. And personally I cannot wait for Abby and the Cute One’s cover reveal and I am even more excited to actually read it! squeals

I will be back soon with a review of Finding Perfect by Kendra C. Highley. Till then, stay bookish and hugs! ❤

5 thoughts on “Interview with Erin Butler || Blog Tour

Leave a Reply

