Not Okay, Cupid by Heidi R. Kling || ARC Review

28356550Title: Not Okay, Cupid

Author: Heidi R. Kling

Series: High School Heartbreakers Trilogy

Genre: YA, Contemporary

Publisher: Entangled: Crush

Pages: 234 pages, Kindle Edition

Publication Date: January 11th 2016

My Rating: ★★★★½


Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart…

Hazel McCallister loves her life. Perfect grades. Perfect best friend. Perfect boyfriend. Until her perfect boyfriend cheats on her with her perfect best friend. Now Hazel’s in free fall—until her best friend’s brother, Felix, gives her the perfect idea. Reclaim her power by taking revenge on her cheating ex.

Felix James loves his life. Casual relationships. Loads of surfing. He’s as drama-free as they come. But he can’t stand by when his sister steals her best friend’s boyfriend, and the dude insists it was Hazel’s fault. So Felix vows to help turn Hazel into a girl her ex can’t resist—so then she can break his heart.

With an alliance in place, Hazel’s revenge is all but assured. But with each piece of payback, she feels a stronger attraction to Felix, even though revenge will turn her into a girl Felix could never be with. And soon Hazel has to make an impossible choice: revenge…or Felix, the boy who’s stolen her heart.

WARNING! This book contains betrayal, revenge, and that most tempting vice of all, the bad boy you know you can’t have.


Thank you Entangled: Crush for this ARC. Thank you so much! 🙂

First off, I am so mad at myself for not getting to this book sooner. I blame it on my horrible reading slump and most of all ME. I don’t know what I was thinking, I don’t know what my reading slump was thinking, getting in the way of me and this gem of a book.

Okay, okay. So Hazel pretty much has a perfectly planned life but as you can tell from the summary, her plans go down the drain when her boyfriend cheats on her with her best friend. Together with her best friend’s brother, Felix James, she plans the seemingly perfect revenge that she thinks she needs to move on.

Hazel is a character I could really relate to and connect with on an emotional level. I felt all the emotions she felt throughout the book and was furious when her boyfriend cheated on her. To make matters worst her boyfriend dumps her in front of practically, the entire student body. The way she reacts to it is very realistic and you can’t blame her for wanting to get revenge, even though you maybe wouldn’t have done the same thing. I mean, cheat on your girlfriend who is so devoted to you, with her best friend? Yeah, it’s cliche but still so damn low.

I liked how Hazel was smart and witty at the same time. She also had a great relationship with her mom and it reminded me of my relationship with my mom. They have this policy where it’s the truth in exchange for freedom and I was just like, “DUDE. SAME.” Lots of times in YA the parents are either absent or present and always pestering their kids for info. With Hazel and her mom there’s a mutual respect and understanding that I think is vital to a healthy mother-daughter relationship.

Felix James. I took to Felix almost instantly. He had a very happy-go-lucky attitude which made him very likable. He’s known as The Player of La Playa and Hazel refers to him as that several times. It was always casual relationships and hookups for him until he started getting closer to Hazel. Due to his player status and charming ways, he is greatly underestimated and lots of time judged by others. Truth be told, even Hazel underestimated his depth in the beginning. She was pleasantly surprised to learn that he did in fact have a lot of admirable qualities about him like, good work ethics and unparalleled loyalty.

It was really good getting to know the real him. Turns out he is a big softie with a protective side to him that can be seen when he’s with Hazel. He was there for her even long before “Operation Revenge” and only in hindsight did she notice that.

Not only that, he also cooks, bakes and surfs, among other things. He will keep surprising you throughout the book with his little gestures that so clearly shows that he cares. He’s one of those people that don’t excel in school because they lean more towards hands-on activities than the more theoretical learning in class.

I know I’m gushing but he is so swoon worthy and just the kind of guy I always fall for. Witty, easy going, sincere, smart and a huge sweetheart. A perfect mix of spontaneous and responsible. Did I mention he cooks and bakes?

In wasn’t all good for him though. Despite being cocky on the outside, on the inside he was somewhat insecure. He didn’t feel like he deserved Hazel because for him she hung the moon and he was just… him.

Their relationship is so cutesy and it’s one of those budding romances that’s been a long time in the making where even they don’t realize that they’ve fallen for each other. They both have a great sense of humor so their banter was extremely fun to read and oftentimes hilarious. They are just so perfect for each other and ugh, I don’t even know how to explain it in words. They would drop everything to be with the other if need be.

So, yes, their romance is credible and I SHIP.

Now for the cheater, Jay.

I’m telling you the guy had no redeeming qualities about him. On top of cheating on Hazel, he tried to make it seem natural and put it on God, saying it was a test.

So, not only was he a cheater, he was one who couldn’t fess up. Classic. Frankly, all he cared about was being crowned Cupid in their school’s Valentine’s dance. Freaking conceited, he had it in his head that he was some Heaven sent gift.

Hazel’s now ex-best friend, Kimmy, I don’t know what to say about her. She had the nerve to be annoyed at Hazel after stabbing her in the back. I mean, the only thing worse than being cheated on is having your best friend in on it. But, no, Kimmy is convinced that it’s true love and completely ditches the concept of hoes before bros.

Suffice it to say, if the author’s intention was to have readers pissed off at Jay and Kimmy, well, she did a great job. She pushed all the right buttons and I couldn’t stand them and their stupidity.

The writing had something quite unique to it as it seemed to breathe life into the characters and made all of them so real.

While not completely original, the “fake relationship to real feelings” trope was properly executed and believable. The pacing was at times a bit slow but it quickly picked up.

To sum it up, this is is a fluffy, fun, light read that will have you laughing, squealing and leave you in a good mood. Fans of this trope should definitely pick this up and if you’re new to this trope, this is a good book to start with.


What did you think about this book? If you haven’t read it, are you convinced to pick it up now? It’s to be released tomorrow and I highly recommend you check it out if you’re looking for a feel good read. Chat with me in the comments about the book, review or anything, really. Happy reading! ❤

P.S. I’m sorry about the awfully lengthy review, I had a lot to say about this book.

 

7 thoughts on “Not Okay, Cupid by Heidi R. Kling || ARC Review

  1. Summer @ Xingsings says:

    Hehe, I love the gifs you used! I can’t believe I still haven’t picked up an Entangled Crush book yet. I can tell you enjoyed this but it’s not really my type of book so I may pass. But I just hauled Finding Perfect since that one seems like right up my alley. Can’t wait to read that one one day! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

