How Willa Got Her Groove Back by Emily McKay || ARC Review

28109100Title: How Willa Got Her Groove Back

Author: Emily McKay

Series: Willa and Finn #1, Creative HeArts #2

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Publisher: Entangled: Crush

Pages: 258 pages, Kindle edition

Publication Date: February 22nd 2016

My Rating: ★★★★½


When your life feels like a bad movie, rewrite the script.

When Willa Schofer’s father comes home from a business trip with an über-famous new fiancée, Willa’s senior year blows up in paparazzi-fueled flames. Overnight, she has a new house, a new car, and a new soon-to-be stepbrother—the unbelievably hot, unbelievably arrogant, Finn McCain. Thank god he’s constantly pushing her buttons, or she might do something irresponsible. Like fall for the jerk.

Just when Willa’s decided to avoid him for, oh, ever, Finn lands in the center of her senior project team. Seriously—how hard is it to shake a guy? At least her work on the project snagged the attention of the (second) hottest guy in school. He might only be into her because of her famous stepmom, and he’s not quite as exciting as a certain annoying housemate, but at least she’s allowed to crush on the guy.

Because crushing on your annoying stepbrother? So not cool.

This Entangled Teen Crush book contains an unbelievably hot bad boy, an unbelievably famous actress, and all the drama that comes with adding both to your family. Oh, and a forbidden flirtation with a soon-to-be stepbrother.


Thank you Entangled for this ARC

My immediate reaction finishing this book:

  • Stare at the last page in disbelief. Reread said page because THERE MUST BE SOMETHING I’M MISSING
  • Look up the author on Twitter and fail at it. Look up the author on Facebook for any clues on her Twitter handle. Handle found. Follow the author on Twitter and send her a desperate tweet:

Screenshot_2016-02-20-18-56-53_com.twitter.android

  • Grab slices of guava then proceed to pace around the house because clearly by stuffing my face and circling the ground floor of my house the sequel is going to manifest on my Kindle app.
  • Go on Goodreads to see if anyone else had NO CHILL about it like me.
  • A lot of “WHY??” and banging my fists on the coffee table like a petulant kid.

How Willa Got Her Groove Back is the first book in the Willa and Finn series, so, no, it is not a standalone. It is also the second book in the Creative HeArts series. Its predecessor being Ten Things Sloane Hates About Tru by Tera Lynn Childs. You can find my review of it here. You can read HWGHGB without reading the first, but I highly recommend you do because there are recurring characters.

I went into this book expecting a light, fun read with a predictable but satisfying ending, because it’s an Entangled Crush book and I know Entangled Crush books. I know they aren’t supposed to be quite this frustrating or have endings that make you want the sequel the instant you finish the first book because of its lack of closure. There definitely shouldn’t be a CLIFFHANGER. I think I may have counted on its predictability a tad bit too much and now I’m paying the price. My fault, really.

tumblr_mc72npYTef1rg9rblo1_500

This book is told in Willa’s POV (first person) and Finn’s POV (third person). This is the first book I’ve read written in such a style and I say it really worked out. The transition between narratives was smooth and easy to follow.

First, you have Willa, who ever since her mother’s passing, has been a team with her father. It was basically them against the world until her father dropped one bomb after another, changing everything in her life. Suddenly, she has a stepmother and stepbrother to-be, a new house which she is reluctant to move into and paparazzi after her.

I really connected with Willa (she was witty and a reader) and could relate to her feelings of indignation and helplessness toward her father’s sudden decision to remarry. Her father was a mess after her mom died, leaving her to pick up the pieces and now she has to sit by and watch him get his heart broken again. I could see why she wasn’t on board with the idea but there were times when I didn’t agree with the choices she made or the things she said. (I thought some of the things Finn said about her were extremely accurate.) Still, I could get where she was coming from. I mean, the life she knew was gone and all of sudden it seemed like it wasn’t her and her father against the world anymore. Not to mention, the guy she’s had a crush on for years suddenly notices her. Is it because of her connection to her famous stepmom-to-be or is he really interested in her?

Finn actually reminded me of Young Do from The Heirs (K-Drama), maybe not as mean but they had similar characteristics.

Really, he had a bike and all.

K-Drama aside, I think Finn is a seriously misunderstood character. If not for the dual POVs, I might have misunderstood him too. Hidden behind his bad boy/surfer charm, there’s a broken soul who never really let anyone in, who grew up without real friends or anyone to trust.

Mia has been in your life your whole life. If you don’t trust anyone who wasn’t in your life before her, then who do you trust?
-Willa

Just like Willa he had to grow up fast and wasn’t on board with his mom’s upcoming nuptials. When he was 11 he had to find a divorce lawyer for his mom and find them a place to stay. All that because of a marriage gone wrong. Can you see why he has his reservations?

So you have 2 broken teenagers who want their parents to be happy, but at the same time don’t want to be the ones to pick up the pieces in the aftermath.

One thing I would’ve liked was more romance. Please! I need more kissing and tension! I need more Finn & Willa in the next books!

giphy.gif

Oooh and it was such a treat to see Tru and Sloane from Ten Things Sloane Hates About Tru again. Recurring characters in books are the best.

I’m not sure how relevant this is to the review but I’m going to say it anyway. I was about 90% into the book and I had a mini panic attack, because it was too close to the end and it didn’t look like it was going where I WANTED IT TO GO. So, now I have to wait for the sequel which comes out in November. NOVEMBER.

cookie_monster_waiting.gif

To sum it up, How Willa Got Her Groove Back is a fantastic sequel to the Creative HeArts series and a promising start to the Willa and Finn series. I devoured it in one sitting and was invested in all the characters, even Willa’s friends. One of which is getting her own book, Crazy, Stupid Fauxmance, in April. Can’t wait! 😀


I’m really so impatient for November to come! From now on I am going to approach Entangled: Crush books with caution a.k.a. not expect a predictable ending.

If you’re interested, How Willa Got Her Groove Back will be released on the 22nd of February (tomorrow), be sure to catch it! If you’ve read it and need to gush about it (and Finn) I’m right here! Bye for now! ❤

 

6 thoughts on “How Willa Got Her Groove Back by Emily McKay || ARC Review

  1. Nerdybirdy @ Daydreaming Books says:

    I knowwww right?! It JUST ENDED! Wham! All of a sudden! I reeeeaally need the next book right now!! But I can’t believe we have to wait till November to know what happens next, I mean it’s soooo long! Nonetheless, I loved Willa and Finn, although there was barely any romance but I loved their chemistry. I agree with you, I really need some moooore tension and kissing in the next book! Seriously. Can’t. Wait!

    Great review btw! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

