Love Me, Love Me Not by Alyxandra Harvey || Interview & Giveaway

LoveMeLoveMeNotTour


Hi everyone! I got to interview Alyxandra Harvey as part of the Love Me, Love Me Not blog tour run by Chapter by Chapter.

Q: Hi! It is such an honor to be able to interview you. I am a huge fan of your work. For those new to you and your books, can you give a description of yourself and the kind of books you write?

A: Thank you! I like to think I write fantastical adventures with kick-ass girls, a little snark, and lots of kissing.

Q: It’s not every day you get characters that turn into swans, or foxes, for that matter. Is there a reason you chose those particular animals?

A: I love shapeshifting stories. There’s something so folklore-y about them. And I think most of us have wondered what animals might be thinking at one point of another—especially when you’re watching your dog chase his tail or lick the couch. I have a corgi who once got totally freaked out over the smell of cooking chicken. My little weirdo. 

I chose foxes because I was working with swan maidens and foxes are one of a swan’s few natural predators. Magic rules should make sense after all!

Q: From Love Me, Love Me Not, which characters would you be, room, cliff? (Any three from the book and feel free to elaborate.)

A: Be: Ana. She has magic powers and is refreshingly un-dramatic.

Room: Roommates with Pierce or Mei Lin. Pierce and I could talk about books. Mei Lin would make me laugh.

Cliff: Can’t say…spoilers!

Q: The Drake Chronicles is one of my favorite series ever and I just have to ask, are there any plans to revisit it? A novella, maybe?

A: Thank you! I miss Lucy and my Drake boys. I always have plans in the back of my head for just one more novella. So it’s definitely possible!

Q: I saw on your Goodreads page that you’ve been accused of being born in the wrong century. Is there a particular century/era that you would have liked to be born in? And if you could bring just one element/tradition from said period to ours, what would it be?

A: Regency, Medieval, Iron Age, Victorian… Too many… brain exploding…. 

I do love the Regency era though which is why I used it as the setting for my Lovegrove Legacy series. The 1800s are like a cozy room in my house where I can curl up with a cup of tea. I finally had a chance to visit Hyde Park last two years ago and I was giddy with joy. I’ve read about it and written about it so much it was wonderful to finally be there in person. 

And I have great empathy for Tasha Tudor…she believed she had been alive in the 1840s and spent much of her life recreating it. She made her own clothes, right down to the weaving. She was a fascinating woman! 

I’d keep my bathroom though. And the electricity, as much as I love candles!

And I would want to go for a carriage ride down Bond Street, live in a grand old house, wear muslin dresses and curtsy at everyone.

As to what I’d bring back….I guess the manners and the frock coats. And the love of poetry. Not the weird jellied foods, or the atrocious treatment of women or servants, or the gossipiness. But that’s the beauty of selective creative history— toothpaste and equality and frock coats for all!

Q: Thank you so much for doing this with me! It really means a lot to me that you’ve taken time out of schedule to answer my questions. 🙂 Before you go, what can fans look forward to from you in the near future?

A: Thanks so much for your questions! I am thinking a lot about Mei Lin’s story next…she’s one of Ana’s cousins and she’d be fun to hang out with.


alyxandra-harvey

Alyxandra Harvey lives in a stone Victorian house in Ontario, Canada with a few resident ghosts who are allowed to stay as long as they keep company manners. She loves medieval dresses, used to be able to recite all of The Lady of Shalott by Tennyson, and has been accused, more than once, of being born in the wrong century. She believes this to be mostly true except for the fact that she really likes running water, women’s rights, and ice cream. Aside from the ghosts, she also lives with her husband and their dogs. She likes cinnamon lattes, tattoos and books.

Connect with the author:  Website | Twitter | Tumblr | Goodreads


Giveaway

  • $200 Amazon Gift Card + Feather Pendant Necklace inspired by the one that Ana, from Love Me, Love Me Not wears

 a Rafflecopter giveaway


Chapter-by-Chapter-blog-tour-button

Leave a Reply

