Crazy, Stupid, Fauxmance by Shellee Roberts

29067842

Title: Crazy, Stupid, Fauxmance

Author: Shellee Roberts

Series: Creative HeArts #3, Mariely & Cabot #1

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Publisher: Entangled: Crush

Pages: 166 pages, Kindle edition

Publication Date: April 18th 2016

My Rating: ★★★½


Disclaimer: This Entangled Teen Crush book contains a kickass heroine, a boy so hot he’ll make you shiver, and a falling-in-love story fit for the big screen. You’ll want to settle in and have the popcorn ready.

After Mariely Hinojosa and Cabot Wheeler both break up with their significant others at the same party, Mariely sees a way to get even with both of their exes. Everyone knows that the best way to get over a breakup is a hookup—a fake hookup, that is. Three weeks, all fun, no strings, and definitely no heartbreak at the end.

But somewhere between the sweet hand-holding and melt-your-mind kisses, their fake relationship starts to feel less like an act and more like the real thing…but Mariely’s a free-spirited girl from the other side of the tracks, and Cabot’s the hot trust-fund guy from the Hills.

They’d never work for real…


I was given an e-ARC of this book to review via the publisher.

Thank you so much Entangled Teen for an advance copy of this book!

Crazy, Stupid, Fauxmance by Shellee Roberts is the third book in the Creative Hearts trilogy and also the first book in the Mariely and Cabot trilogy. If you don’t yet know, all three books in the former series are being made into its own trilogies. Each couple gets three books, but that’s a story for another day. Just know that this book can be read as a standalone but it is much recommended that you read the previous books first.

This book is told in both Mariely and Cabot’s POVs. 1st person for Mariely and 3rd person for Cabot. Much like the previous book, How Willa Got Her Groove Back by Emily McKay.

If you’ve read HWGHGB, you’d probably have had suspicions as to Mariely’s boyfriend (now ex), Jacen’s infidelity. Hell, you probably already know who he’s cheating with. NO SURPRISE THERE GUYS- just confirmation. But, for the sake of those of you haven’t read HWGHGB, I will refrain from mentioning said person’s name. I will, however, say that this couple deserves a book- if not trilogy- of their own. (FYI I DO NOT ENDORSE CHEATING)

I have to say right off the bat  I adore fauxmance to real romance stories. Like best friends to lovers stories, it’s a classic that I cannot resist.

You have Mariely, who just found out that her boyfriend- whom she had built her dreams and aspirations with- has been cheating on her with a guy. She took it as well as you can expect any girl who has been cheated on by her boyfriend of 3 years to take it. Some moping, alone time and ultimately, a faux-hookup.

I cannot say that I could relate to Mariely- not entirely anyway. I can, however, say that I admired her strength and determination to move on. From her style to her manner, she marched to her own beat. Even though at times it was more fake it till you make it than anything, it WORKED. I loved how she used her clothes to give her confidence and express her inner quirkiness. Her choice of clothing was more out of necessity than preference, but it suited her personality so well that it is impossible to picture her wearing anything but vintage. Coming from a struggling American-Mexican family, she was sometimes insecure about where she was financially. Which I found understandable and realistic. My favorite part about Mariely, though, has to be her humor. I mean, she uses the names of actors in place of cuss words! Sense of humor comes naturally to her. What I did not like though, is how she sort of trivialized Cabot’s problems because he was rich and she thought that meant life was easy for him. But that’s what character development is for right?

On the surface, Cabot came off as your typical rich kid with the perfect car, perfect house and supposed perfect life. But one thing reading has thought me is that there is no “perfect life”. Which rang very true for Cabot. His parents are divorced and he made it very clear whose side he is on. There weren’t many interactions between him and his parents, but from what we got, he and his father have a lot of unsolved issues. Family troubles aside, he was sweet and a gentleman (most of the time). What stood out about him was his directness. He was very to the point about his feelings for Mariely and where he wanted to go with it. Oooh and there was also the makings of a bromance between him and Finn. I am ALL for more of that in the future books.

As a couple, Mariely and Cabot had chemistry and the opposites attract thing really worked for them. But for some reason I just felt like there was something lacking. I can’t for the life of me pin point what was missing. It could be that there weren’t enough of Cabot’s chapters or the book could have done with a bit more length. Or it could be both. Now that’s not to say that I didn’t root for them as a couple, because I did. It just didn’t bring out as much emotion in me as Willa and Finn did. Also, what do you know? Mariely ships them too. #Willa&Finn4Ever

While we’re on the topic of Willa and Finn, I was so excited every time they made an appearance in the book.

tumblr_naeoajN2yQ1tw1vhco1_250

It was just what I needed to tide me over until the next Willa and Finn book is released. I am going to hop on that ARC as soon as it gets out. I don’t care if I have college work or the sky is freaking falling.

Cant-do-gif

I’ll end this review soon and spare you the details of my anticipation for the second Willa and Finn book. Back to Crazy, Stupid, Fauxmance, if you’ve read the previous Creative HeArts books, definitely get this too. Not just to complete your collection, but because this is a truly enjoyable read. If you’re a fan of the fake dating trope, you might want to invest in this. But be warned that you’ll be compelled to get the rest of the series.

Let’s be awesome.


I know I’ve been absent for quite some time- a month to be exact- but I just started college and I’ve been busy with that. I’ve been trying to squeeze in as much reading time as possible in between classes, but it’s much easier said than done. And sometimes when I actually have time to read, I’m just so worn out that all I want to do is kick back and watch TV. Anyway, I hope you enjoyed this review, leave a comment and hopefully I’ll be back with a post soon. Hugs! ❤

One thought on “Crazy, Stupid, Fauxmance by Shellee Roberts

Leave a comment