January 2016 || Looking Back

Looking Back

Hello everyone! Looking Back is a new monthly feature on this blog. It’s basically a recap of a specific month that I’ll be posting on the 1st or 2nd of every month. This will give you an insight on how I spent my month, involving both bookish and non-bookish elements. It also let’s me keep track of time and my progress, because let’s be real, a month can fly by without me really knowing what I did and I dislike coming out of a month with nothing to show for it.


Books

Books read/reviewed in January:

BeFunky Collage m

  • Infinity by Sherrilyn Kenyon- 4 stars || Review
  • Not Okay Cupid by Heidi R. Kling- 4.5 stars || Review
  • The Girlfriend Request by Jodie Andrefski- 3 stars || Review
  • Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard- 3.5 stars
  • The Probability of Miracles by Wendy Wunder- 4.5 stars
  • The Secret to Letting Go by Katherine Fleet || Review

Total books read: 6

Book of the month: The Secret to Letting Go by Katherine Fleet

Books acquired in January:

BeFunky Collage mm

BeFunky Collagec.jpg

BeFunky Collagef

  • School of Deaths by Christopher Mannino || Review copy
  • The Truth Spell by Anita Oh || Review copy
  • Thief of Lies by Brenda Drake || ebook
  • Truthwitch by Susan Dennard || ebook
  • Mercury Striking by Rebecca Zanetti || e-ARC
  • Love Me, Love Me Not by Alyxandra Harvey || e-ARC
  • Holding Court by K.C. Held || e-ARC
  • How Willa Got Her Groove Back by Emily McKay || e-ARC
  • The Secret to Letting Go by Katherine Fleet || e-ARC (Reviewed)
  • The Girlfriend Request by Jodie Andrefski || e-ARC (Reviewed)
  • Not Okay, Cupid by Heidi R. Kling || e-ARC (Reviewed)

Total books acquired: 11

Goodreads 2016 Reading Challenge:

fffr


Blogging

Posts in January:

Total posts: 7


Movies

Movies watched in the cinema:

I only watched one movie in the cinema this month which is The 5th Wave. My friends and I watched it on the first day of release and it was so good. Can’t compare it to the book since I haven’t read it yet but as a movie it’s enjoyable. And umm… the eye candy didn’t hurt either. 😉


TV Shows/ K-Dramas

TV Shows I watched in January:

BeFunky Collagess

  • The Shannara Chronicles || Ep 1-5
  • Shadowhunters || Ep 1-3
  • DC’s Legends of Tomorrow || Ep 1-2
  • Grandfathered || Ep 10-13

K-Dramas I watched in January (first time watching):

BeFunky Collagej

K-Dramas I watched in January (rewatch):

fsd

For the K-Dramas if you click on the title you’ll be sent to its Drama Cool page where you can watch it with English subtitles. 🙂


Music

9ecabe97162bd8ac470d8fd87b242415

I spent the second half of January obsessing over Panic! At the Disco and Brendon Urie’s exceptional vocals. I remember hearing ‘I Write Sins Not Tragedies’ and ‘Nine in the Afternoon’ when I was way too young to actually get what the songs meant, especially Nine in the Afternoon. “But there’s no nine in the afternoon?”, the confusion was real and I think my parents were more than a little reluctant to explain to me the significance of the lyrics.

I stumbled upon ‘Nine in the Afternoon’ on Youtube recently, nostalgia hit and I somehow ended up listening to lots of their songs, even the latest album, Death of a Bachelor. So, now I can’t seem to stop listening to their songs, I’m actually listening to a playlist of them right now. My favorite changes constantly, but right now it’s ‘LA Devotee’. Or ‘Death of a Bachelor’. ‘Hallelujah’? ‘This is Gospel’, maybe?


Miscellaneous

  • I refrained from going to the recent Big Bad Wolf Double Trouble book and poster sale. I deserve a cookie.
  • Keira @ Signing On started a book club that Jackie @ fallinlovewithesoundofwords and I now co-own. You can check it out here.
  • I stayed up everyday till 3/4 a.m.. I feel like I’m able to get more things done at that time and I have trouble falling asleep, so…
  • I ended up re-reading more books than reading new books.
  • Every waking hour that wasn’t already occupied was spent stressing over college and my future. Now that I think of it, I even stressed while I was busy.
  • I don’t think anything else significant happened. To be honest, January passed in a blur of entertainment interlaced with stress and keeping myself busy.

    Overall

    Like I said, January was a blur and came to an end much sooner than I expected it to. 6 books really isn’t much for someone done with high school. I’ll be upping my game for February and hopefully no reading slumps will get in my way of slaying my TBR. It was a good month for TV shows and K-Dramas though, so I’m hoping to keep it up in February. As for movies, a film that I wanted to watch but didn’t get the chance to was The Boy. I might catch that with my friends this month along with Deadpool (YAY!). In terms of music I’m glad I got to really discover Panic! At the Disco.


    What do you think? Would you like to see more of these posts? Personally, I enjoyed doing this and found it oddly relaxing. Anyway, how did your January go? If you posted your own recap, leave a link in the comments and I’ll check it out. Share your thoughts with me! Hugs. ❤

10 thoughts on “January 2016 || Looking Back

  1. Nerdybirdy @ Daydreaming Books says:

    You are sooo right about the eye candy stuff in The 5th Wave movie, I was pretty busy ogling the screen myself, quite a few things were executed differently but I loved the movie!! Oh and you want to watch The Boy, dear God that trailer is scary enough! I mean, I enjoy watching horror movies but I have special aversion for doll ghosts ever since I watched Chuky as a kid but I still do want to watch it….

    Thanks for the link to the K drama series, I intend to watch all of them. Btw, have you watched Boys Over Flowers yet?

    Well, even if you read a few books it looks like you had a good start, I also have to read the arcs of Love Me, Love Me Not, Holding Court and How Will got her Groove back. I hope we both enjoy them! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tasha says:

      Exactly! Between Nick Robinson and Alex Roe, there was plenty eye candy!
      You’re right. Now that I’ve read the book I can tell that they changed quite a few things. Like in the book Ben barely knows who Cassie is and the only convo they had pre-alien invasion was about babies. I couldn’t help but laugh at that part 😂
      Yup, the trailer itself is damn scary. I was going to watch it but the cinema near my place stopped showing it. AND HORROR MOVIES WITH DOLLS CREEP THE HELL OUT OF ME.
      No problem! I suggest you watch Healer first! It is freaking amazing and my favorite K-Drama ever. While watching it I went to school and talked all my friends into watching it. (There’s eye candy too.)
      If you want something light and funny, go for Oh My Venus. For paranormal, go with The Master’s Sun. Bride of the Century is sort of a Princess and the Pauper story.
      Yeess! Boys Over Flowers was one of my first K-Dramas. Have you watched it?
      I hope we do too! 🙂
      Have you read any of them yet?
      I just started reading Love Me, Love Me Not. I’m not far in so I can’t say if it’s good or not, but Alyxandra Harvey is a great author.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Nerdybirdy @ Daydreaming Books says:

        Exactly!! Ben didn’t remember Cassie that much in the books but in the movie he clearly did.

        Same here!! Ghost dolls scare the shit out of me and I still want to watch it. Sometimes I wonder what’s wrong with me… 😛

        I’m finally going to get a new computer in April, after my finals get over and I’m definitely going to watch aaaaall of those you mentioned. Thanks for the recommendations! 😀 No, I haven’t watched BoF yet but there was kinda a Hindi adaptation which I looooved so much! So yup, I definitely look forward to watch the original one as well.

        I loved How Willa Got Her Groove Back and I’m impatiently waiting for the next book to know what happens next!! I have started Love Me, Love Me Not as well and I’m in the same position as you. Hopefully it’ll get interesting as we proceed.

        Like

  2. ravenblake99 says:

    I loved reading your post! I can’t wait for you to read Truthwitch! It was so good and I hope you like it too. The Master’s sun and The Heirs are my top favorite dramas. I haven’t watched Oh My Venus yet but I’ll pretty much soon. Thanks for the link btw but there’s also another great site called gooddrama.net where I can find all the old dramas too.

    Like

  3. emmathereader says:

    I really wanted to watch the 5th Wave movie cos I liked the book but it isn’t showing anywhere local to me as it totally flopped in the UK – it was only showing in 18 Odeon cinemas nationwide when I last checked 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment